ANI Photo | Telangana Assembly Speaker post: Congress MLA Vikarabad Gaddam Prasad Kumar files nomination

Congress MLA from Vikarabad Gaddam Prasad Kumar on Wednesday filed a nomination to the post of Speaker of the Telangana Legislative Assembly.
Telangana Chief Minister Revanth Reddy, Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Legislative Affairs Minister D Sridhar Babu, other Cabinet Ministers and former Minister and BRS Working president KTR, and other legislators were also present on the occasion.
After the recent election to the Assembly, AIMIM MLA Akbaruddin Owaisi was elected as the pro-tem Speaker of the House. He administered the oath of office to the newly elected MLAs on December 9. However, BJP MLAs refused to take oath from him, alleging that he was appointed, violating the rules.
The Congress won 64 seats in the recently concluded assembly polls and its ally CPI got one seat. BRS bagged 39 seats, BJP secured eight seats and AIMIM got seven seats.
Gaddam Prasad Kumar contested for the first time on a Congress ticket in the 2009 Assembly elections and won comfortably from the Vikarabad Assembly constituency. In 2012, he was inducted into the Cabinet of N Kiran Kumar Reddy as Minister for Handlooms and Textiles in the undivided Andhra Pradesh. In 2014, after the state’s bifurcation, he lost to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS, now Bharat Rashtra Samithi or BRS) candidate B Sanjeev Rao, and to M Anand in 2018

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.