ANI Photo | “Trying to divert the concern…”: Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury attacks government over Parliament Security breach

Amidst opposition parliamentarians demanding action against BJP MP Pratap Simha in connection with the security breach incident and holding protests, Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury said that the government is collectively trying to divert the concern of common people.
“It’s our duty to ask questions. If you would blame us and say that we do politics on it then it means that the government is collectively trying to divert the concern of common people…Has PM given any statement on this? Home Minister should make the PM understand the conduct of the Parliament,” said Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.
Congress MP K Suresh also demanded a statement from the Home Minister on Parliament security breach.
“Our demand is genuine…This attack was inside the Lok Sabha chamber and it is very serious…The Prime Minister or the Home Minister must come to the House and give a statement…” said Congress MP K Suresh.
Meanwhile, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Amar Pattnaik said that all political parties must work together on the security issue of the Parliament.
“…This is not the time to do politics, but this is the time to work together and give a message to people that India is one, all political parties are one on this. That no attack on the temple of democracy, on parliament, on democracy itself would be tolerated by anyone…” Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Amar Pattnaik said.
Meanwhile, Several opposition parliamentarians staged a protest in front of the Gandhi Statue inside Parliament premises on Friday, demanding action against BJP MP Pratap Simha in connection with the security breach incident.
Opposition members were holding placards with “Nation wants to know why no action against BJP MP Simha” written on them. “Why PM and HM are silent” and “Democracy under siege” read other placards.
Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, suspended Congress MP Manickam Tagore, and several other opposition parliamentarians were present during the protest.
MP Simha faces opposition scrutiny over allegations of providing Parliament passes to individuals responsible for triggering panic in the Lok Sabha with smoke canisters.
Earlier, 14 MPs were suspended on Thursday. but later, Pralhad Joshi clarified that one member was mistakenly included in the list of MPs suspended.
Following his clarification, a formal request was made to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla to exclude one member, who wasn’t present at the Well of the Lower House during the disruption, from the list of suspended MPs.
The motion for suspension of nine opposition MPs–Benny Behanan, VK Sreekandan, Mohammad Jawed, PR Natarajan, Kanimozhi Karunanidhi, K Subrahmanyam, SR Parthiban, S Venkatesan and Manickam Tagore–was moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi.
Oppositon members are protesting over the Parliament security breach incident and have demanded that Home Minister Amit Shah make a statement in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.
Meanwhile, Delhi’s Patiala House Court on Thursday granted seven days of custodial remand to all four accused persons arrested in connection with the Parliament security breach matter.
The fifth accused, Lalit Jha, was also arrested by Delhi Police on Thursday

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.