ANI Photo | Women’s Blind Cricket Series: Binita Pun’s 92 in vain as India defeat Nepal by 8 runs in first T20I

Binita Pun’s gutsy 92 went in vain as India on Monday defeated Nepal by eight runs here at Police Gymkhana Cricket Ground in the first-ever Women’s Bilateral Series for the Blind.
Winning the toss, India scored 194/4 in the allotted 20 overs and then restricted Nepal to 186/4 as the visitors failed to chase the target. With this win, India has taken a 1-0 lead in the Women’s Bilateral Series for the Blind.
Chasing 195, Nepal went all guns blazing on the Indian bowlers as Binita Pun slammed a sensational half-century, with the visiting team scoring 100 runs in 11 overs.
Nepal did lose the wicket of Mankeshi Chaudhary in the 12th over; however, Binita Pun continued her stellar show and took the score to 170 in the 18th over. With just 25 runs required, India made a comeback and didn’t allow Nepal to score runs despite having eight wickets in hand.
Nepal lost two more wickets and were restricted to 186/4. Phula Saren was adjudged the Player of the Match for her all-round performance. She was awarded the player of the match with the cash prize of INR 5000/- and the trophy and certificate. India and Nepal will now lock horns in the second T20I on Tuesday at the same venue.
Earlier in the day, India won the toss and elected to bat first. The Women in Blue got off to a firing start with Sushma Patel and Simu Das smashing 35 runs in the first three overs. Nepal’s Binita Pun ran out Simu in the fourth over, however, the wicket didn’t hamper India’s momentum. Sunita Srathe and Sushma stitched a 68-run stand for the second wicket as India went past the 100-run mark in the 11th over.
India suffered another run out in the 13th over as Sushma was dismissed after scoring 41 runs in 36 balls. Phula Saren and Ravanni then built a decent half-century partnership for the fourth wicket as India scored 194/4 in the allotted 20 overs after some lusty blows at the death.
Ahead of the first T20I on Monday, a grand inauguration ceremony was also conducted in the presence of both India and Nepal cricket teams. The event was graced by the esteemed presence of former Indian Test Cricketer and Cricket Administrator (BCCI) Diana Edulji. Bhupen Lalwani, Ranji Player Mumbai, Anila Rajneesh – Chief Human Resource Officer – Fedfina, and Vikas M Srivastva – Chief Business Officer – Fedfina were the guests who were present to cheer both the teams. The officials from the Cricket Association for the Blind in India and Maharashtra were present for the inaugural and post-match presentation.
The chairman of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India(CABI) Dr Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar said’ today is the new milestone for CABI and we are delighted to host Nepal in the first-ever women’s bilateral series for the blind in India. Let these matches bring us the best potential from each individual for the promotion of Cricket for the Blind.”
The Chief Guest of the Inaugural Ceremony Diana Edulji said that “Difficulties are part of every sportsperson. The legacy you build and leave will remain forever. You will be all proud of the legacy that you leave behind with your sacrifices to promote the cricket you love and play.
Fedfina Chief Human Resource Officer Anila Rajeenish said, “It is the best opportunity for Fedfina to support this wonderful initiative.” She wished both teams the best for all five T20 matches.
Buse Gowda, President – CABI spoke about the tournament and thanked the Nepal team for accepting the invitation and taking part in the bilateral series.
Indian Women’s Squad Vs Nepal Women’s Bilateral T20 Cricket Series for the Blind 2023
1. Varsha U (Captain) – B1 – Karnataka
2. Valasanaini Ravanni – B1 – Andhra Pradesh
3. Simu Das – B1 – Rajasthan
4. Padmini Tudu – B1 – Odisha
5. Killaka Sandhya – B1 – Andhra Pradesh
6. Priya – B1 – Madhya Pradesh
7. Sandra Davis Karimalikkal – B2 – Kerala
8. Basanti Hansda – B2 – Odisha
9. Pritiben Desai – B2 – Gujarat
10. Simranjeet Kaur – B2 – Rajasthan
11. Sunita Sarathe – B2 – Madhya Pradesh
12. Sushma Patel – B3 – Madhya Pradesh
13. M. Satyavathi – B3 – Andhra Pradesh
14. Phula Saren (Vice-Captain) – B3 – Odisha
15. Jhili Birua – B3 – Odisha
16. Ganga Sambhaji Kadam – B3 – Maharashtra
17. Geetha Mahato – B3 – Jharkhand
18. Kavya N R – B3 – Karnataka (ANI)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.