ASJA’s new executive committee formed in Guwahati

ASJA Assam Sports
The office bearers of the Assam Sports Journalists' Association in Guwahati

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Assam Sports Journalists’ Association (ASJA) took place in Guwahati on January 28.

President Subodh Malla Barua presided over the meeting, during which general secretary Imtiaz Ahmed presented the minutes of the previous AGM and the secretary’s report on behalf of the executive committee. Both were unanimously approved.

The audited financial accounts covering the period from 2019 to 2023 were also presented and passed following discussions among the members.

In compliance with the constitution, the executive committee of ASJA was reconstituted. The uncontested election resulted in 25 office bearers being declared elected by election officers Sanjib Kumar Phukan and Santanu Kumar Das.

Outgoing President Subodh Malla Barua was unanimously offered the position of chairman of ASJA.

The AGM addressed several key issues with ASJA advisors Balendra Mohan Chakravarty and Pabitra Gogoi in attendance. Discussions included hosting annual events such as the ASJA Sports Awards, ASJA Inter-Media T20 Cricket Championship, ASJA Sports Festival, and ASJA Inter-School/Coaching Centre Cricket Championships.

The meeting also resolved to urge the Assam government to resume the pension for journalists, suspended since last year, and to seek government recognition for sports journalists’ lifetime contributions.

The AGM proposed documenting the sporting history of Assam with inputs from veteran sports journalists for archival purposes.

Additionally, the AGM appointed advisors and special invitees for the term 2024-27. Advisors include Premadhar Sarma, Balendra Mohan Chakravarty, Pabitra Gogoi, Umanand Jaiswal, Diganta Buragohain, and Sambhu Majumdar. Special invitees include Kaustav Moni Kakati, Rajdeep Das, Abdul Gani, Mukut Sarma, and Santosh Agarwal.

ASJA 12 – The News Mill
Outgoing president Subodh Malla Barua was unanimously offered the position of chairman of the ASJA

The newly formed executive committee includes: President: Bidyut Kalita (Asomiya Pratidin); working president: Sushim Ghosh (Dainik Asom); vice presidents: Rajkumar Sharma (Dainik Purvoday), Mrinal Borah (Pratidin Time), Mridumoloy Lukhurakhan (The Assam Tribune), Saurav Kr Borah (Amar Asom), Kulapradip Bhagawati (Dainik Agradoot), Dwijendralal Das (Prantajyoti); general secretary: Imtiaz Ahmed (Awaz – The Voice); treasurer: Partha Chakraborty (The Sentinel); joint secretaries: Tauhid Ali Talukdar (Asomiya Pratidin), Dhiren Sarma (Dainik Asom), Kausav Baruah (The Assam Tribune); assistant secretaries: Samarendra Sarma (The Assam Tribune), Bhupender Singh (Pratah Khabar), Prarthana Hazarika (The Sentinel); executive members: Pawan Kumar Jha Murli (Dainik Purvoday), Hirak Jyoti Malakar (News 18, Assam), Pradip Nath (The Eastern Chronicle), Diganta Saharia (Prag News), Suman Dutta (Amar Asom), Bidyut Bikash Baishya (Niyamiya Barta), Jintu Borthakur (Amar Asom), Sukumar Medhi (Freelance), Azad Gogoi (Pratidin Time).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]