ANI Photo | “Grateful to PM Modi for this decision”: RLJD Chief on Bharat Ratna for Karpoori Thakur

After the government’s decision to posthumously confer the Bharat Ratna to former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur, Rashtriya Lok Janata Dal (RLJD) president Upendra Kushwaha thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
“It is a historic moment for all of us and for those who fought for poor and backward people. We are grateful to PM Modi for this decision. Karpoori Thakur deserved this and we have been demanding it for a long time but the government of India did not listen to us. PM Modi now has done it. “
grateful to pm modi for this decision rljd chief on bharat ratna for karpoori thakur 1 – The News Mill
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Bihar chief Samrat Choudhary also welcomed the Centre’s decision to award former Bihar CM Karpoori Thakur with the Bharat Ratna.
“This is a historic decision. Thanks to the Prime Minister. By conferring the Bharat Ratna on ‘Gudri Ka Laal’, freedom fighter and former Bihar CM Karpoori Thakur, PM Modi’s government has enhanced the pride of Bihar.”
grateful to pm modi for this decision rljd chief on bharat ratna for karpoori thakur 2 – The News Mill
Meanwhile, the BJP MLC said that awarding Karpoori Thakur with the Bharat Ratna is an honour for the poor.
“The decision by the Government of India and Prime Minister Narendra Modi to award Bharat Ranta to Karpoori Thakur is an honour for the poor. We congratulate and salute the decision.”
grateful to pm modi for this decision rljd chief on bharat ratna for karpoori thakur 3 – The News Mill
Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman, Harivansh N Singh, appreciated the Centre for recognising people who are not from the elite classes.
“After 2014, those silent heroes started receiving recognition who were considered to not be from Delhi’s elite or ‘Khan Market’ class. People who spent their lives in tribal areas were not given recognition earlier. Only those who were close to the top leadership in the government were given awards. After 2014, every year only such people are awarded who became icons through their sacrifice and hard work. Karpoori Ji also comes in the same category.”
This prestigious award is a tribute to Karpoori Thakur’s lifelong dedication to the upliftment of the underprivileged sections of society and his relentless fight for social justice. Known affectionately as ‘Jan Nayak’ (People’s Leader), Thakur’s simplicity in his conduct was highly inspiring and his contribution to Indian politics has been monumental.
The former Bihar CM was born on January 24, 1924, and passed away on February 17, 1988. Thakur was born in 1924 in one of the most backward sections of society, the Nai Samaj. He was a remarkable leader whose political journey was marked by his unwavering commitment to the marginalised sections of society.
He served as the Chief Minister of Bihar and was a key figure in the struggle against social discrimination and inequality. His commitment to affirmative action gave representation and opportunities to the poor, oppressed, exploited and deprived sections of the country.
Embarking on his political career with the Praja Socialist Party, he later joined forces with the Janata Party during his initial tenure as the chief minister of Bihar from 1977 to 1979. Over time, he established connections with the Janata Dal, marking a significant shift in his political affiliation

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.