ANI Photo | “So far not accepted”: Himachal Assembly Speaker on three Independent MLAs’ resignation

Hours after three Independent MLAs resigned from the Himachal Pradesh Assembly on Friday, Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania said that their resignations have not been accepted so far.
“We have received their resignations but we are examining the rules and constitutional provisions for this, so far we have not accepted their resignations,” Pathania said speaking about the resignations of the Independent MLAs.
The MLAs include KL Thakur from Nalagarh, Hoshiyar Singh from Dehra and Ashish Sharma from Hamirpur seats. There are reports that these MLAS will be joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
The three MLAs also met the Speaker at his residence in Shimla, sources from the BJP said.
“We have tendered our resignation for the sake of the state, the people. If the MLAs are not safe, if their families are not safe…all these have forced us to come to this decision,” Hoshiyar Singh said speaking to the reporters on Friday.
On being asked whether they would be joining the BJP, Singh said, “All of us will be joining.”
Responding to allegations levelled by Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu that MLAs are being sold off to the BJP, Singh said, “Let him (Sukhu) prove that. Let him speak about his incapability about why six of his MLAs left him.”
Leader of Opposition in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly Jairam Thakur said that the MLAs assured that they were not acting under any pressure and wanted to join the BJP.
“Three independent MLAs came here to tender their resignation to the Vidhan Sabha Speaker. He was not present. So they handed over their resignation to the Secretary. They assured that they were not under any pressure. It is necessary to give them strength under the leadership of PM Modi. They want to join the BJP,” the former Chief Minister told ANI.
For the Lok Sabha polls, Himachal Pradesh will vote on June 1. The hill state has four parliamentary constituencies. The BJP won all four seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.