ANI Photo | “We are committed to stand with the poor people of this country,” says Congress MP KC Venugopal

Ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the country, Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal on Tuesday said that the party is committed to stand with the poor people of this country.
“Our guarantee is our promise to the people of this country. Because we are committed to stand with the poor people of this country,” he said.
He emphasised that the Congress party is committed to youth, farmers, adivasis and women.
Speaking on Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar’s resignation, he pointed out, “They (Bharatiya Janata Party) are now authenticating the failure of the present chief minister.”
Earlier in the day, KC Venugopal announced the second list of 43 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in which some prominent names including Kamal Nath’s son Nakul Nath, Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav Gehlot and Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi have been mentioned.
The names have been announced for Lok Sabha seats in Assam, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Daman and Diu.
Addressing the press conference, KC Venugopal said, “In this list, out of the 43 candidates, 10 are General candidates, 13 OBC candidates, 10 SC candidates, 9 ST candidates and 1 Muslim candidate.”
A total of 12 candidates have been announced from Assam, 10 from Madhya Pradesh, 7 from Gujarat, 10 from Rajasthan, three from Uttarakhand and one from Daman and Diu.
In Madhya Pradesh, the Congress has fielded Nakul Nath who is the son of a senior party leader Kamal Nath from the Chhindwara constituency. Phool Singh Baraiya has been fielded from Bhind, whereas Pankaj Ahirwar will contest from Tikamgarh.
Siddharth Kushwaha will contest from Satna, whereas Kamleshwar Patel will fight the Lok Sabha polls from Sidhi. The party has also given the ticket to Omkar Singh Markam from Mandla.
Other names that have been announced are Rajendra Malviya from Dewas, Radheshyam Muvel from Dhar, Porlal Kharte from Khargone, and Ramu Tekam from Betul.
In Assam, Gaurav Gogoi has been fielded from the Jorhat Lok Sabha seat.
Congress has also fielded Garjan Mashhary from Kokrajhar, Rakibul Hussain from Dhubri, Deep Bayan from Barpeta, Madhab Rajbanshi from Darrang Udalguri, Mira Barthakur Goswami has been given a ticket from Guwahati Lok Sabha seat, Joyram Engleng from Diphu, Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudhury from Karimganj, Surjya Kanta Sarkar from Silchar, Pradyut Bordoloi from Nagaon, Roselina Tirkey from Kaziranga and Prem Lal Ganju from Sonitpur

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.