ANI Photo | LS polls: TMC protests against BJP leader Agnimitra Paul’s alleged entry into polling station

TMC workers on Saturday staged a protest against BJP candidate from Medinipur Lok Sabha seat Agnimitra Paul for allegedly entering a polling station.
While addressing the media, Agnimitra Paul referred to the protesters as TMC goons trying to capture the polling station.
“The goons of TMC have come here to capture the booth. Why else have they gathered outside the polling station?” Mamata Banerjee’s goons are here to capture the booth…”
In the sixth phase, voting took place in the Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, and Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal.
In the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls, voting was held in eight seats in Bihar, all 10 seats in Haryana, one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, four in Jharkhand, all seven seats in Delhi, six in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and eight in West Bengal. A total of 889 candidates are competing in this phase.
The sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections for 58 parliamentary constituencies saw a cumulative voter turnout of 57.7 per cent till 5 pm, as per the data shared by the Election Commission on Saturday.
According to the poll body, West Bengal recorded the highest voter turnout (77.99 per cent) followed by Jharkhand (61.41 per cent), Uttar Pradesh (52.02 per cent), Odisha (59.60 per cent), Jammu and Kashmir (51.35 per cent), Bihar (52.24 per cent), Haryana (55.93 per cent), and Delhi (53.73 per cent).
Polling has already been completed on 428 parliamentary constituencies for 25 states and UTs in the first five phases of general elections.
Over 11.13 crore voters, including 5.84 crore males, 5.29 crore females, and 5120 third-gender electors are eligible to exercise their franchise in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls. Around 11.4 lakh polling officials will be involved in conducting this phase of the election.
The Lok Sabha elections will be completed on June 1 after the seventh phase of polls in which voters from 57 constituencies will exercise their franchise. The results will be declared on June 4

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.