ANI Photo | Neither women nor foreigners safe in Bengal: BJP’s Dilip Ghosh

Following the murder case of Bangladesh MP Anwarul Azim Anar in Kolkata and the hacking to death of a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) worker in Nandigram, party MP Dilip Ghosh said that no one is safe in West Bengal be it Indians or those from abroad.
“The way a 56 year old woman was killed shows the kind of security women enjoy in West Bengal. Moreover, a Bangladesh MP who had come here for treatment was killed. No one in West Bengal, whether Indian or from abroad, men or women, in localities, villages or in cities is safe,” Ghosh said at a press conference at Bardhaman on Friday.
Ghosh, who is the MP from Medinipur constituency claimed that such incidents of violence are coming to the fore because the Trinamool knows that there is no chance for its victory in the Lok Sabha elections.
“Disturbances are being reported wherever elections are being held. This is because there is no chance for the TMC to win. They are trying to instill fear among voters. But they will not be successful. This is the last time violence is being reported in West Bengal. No incident of violence will be reported any more,” the BJP leader said.
Defending the Election Commission, Ghosh said that maintaining law and order in the state is not the job of the poll body but the police and the local authorities.
“Since the Election Commission is vigilant every person has voted. No one can complain that he has not been able to vote. But it is not the duty of the Election Commission to maintain law and order. Police and the authorities are in charge. Are they sleeping?” he said.
Meanwhile, security personnel have been deployed in Nandigram at Purba Medinipur after a BJP party worker died in an attack by miscreants on a few houses the day before yesterday. Local party workers claimed that the attack was carried out by Trinamool Congess workers.
Polling for the parliamentary elections has already been conducted in five phases and the voting for the remaining two phases will be held on May 25 and June 1. Votes will be counted on June 4.
In the sixth phase, polling will be held on May 25 in Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, and Bishnupur

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.