File photo

The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) on March 7 released a list of eight candidates who will be contesting the Assam assembly elections from the party.

The first list includes names of AGP president Atul Bora who will contest from Bokakhat. Party leader and Assam minister Kesab Mahanta will contest from Kaliabor legislative assembly constituency.

Other names in the first list of candidates released by the Asom Gana Parishad includes: Renupoma Rajkhowa from Teok, Bhabendra Nath Bharali from Dergaon, Pradip Hazarika from Amguri, Punakan Baruah from Chabua, Jayanta Khaund from Naoboicha and Prithviraj Rabha from Tezpur.

Asom Gana Parishad, an ally of the ruling BJP in Assam, has 14 MLA in the outgoing assembly. The party will contest in 26 seats in the state assembly elections 2021.

Avatar of TNM NewsDesk
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


How ‘everything will be ok’ became the slogan of protesters in Myanmar

BJP declares why it chose 8 candidates with criminal records in Assam