Aizawl to host Mohun Bagan in I League opener

The 13th edition of the Hero I-League will kick off from November 30 with 11 teams in action this season and winners taking home prize money of Rs 1 crore.

The 13th edition of the I-League was officially launched by AIFF while addressing mediapersons here on Thursday in the national capital.

The tournaments opening match will be played between former champions Mohun Bagan FC and Aizawl FC at the Rajiv Gandhi stadium in Aizawl, Mizoram.

The league will see induction of TRAU FC, winners of the Hero Second division last season.

In a first, fans from across the country this season will witness two local derbies – the legendary Kolkata derby between East Bengal and Mohun Bagan, and the Imphal derby featuring Neroca FC and TRAU FC.

The I–League has witnessed many a fairy-tale in recent years with underdogs such as Aizawl FC, Minerva Punjab FC (now Punjab FC) and Chennai City FC winning the previous three editions. The 12th edition debutants Real Kashmir also created a flutter and were the title contenders at one-point.

The 13th edition of the I-League 2019-20 will be broadcast live exclusively on DSPORT. The prize money for winners will be Rs 1 crore, runners-up – Rs 60 lakh, third place – Rs 40 lakh and fourth will fetch Rs 25 Lakh.

The 11 teams from eight states and one Union Territory at the 13th Hero I-League are – Defending Champions Chennai City FC (Chennai), Punjab FC (Punjab), Aizawl FC (Mizoram), NEROCA FC (Manipur), TRAU FC (Manipur), Mohun Bagan & Quess East Bengal (West Bengal), Gokulam Kerala FC (Kerala), Churchill Brothers FC Goa (Goa), Indian Arrows (Goa), Chennai City FC (Tamil Nadu), and Real Kashmir FC (Kashmir).

About TNM NewsDesk


SpeedNews Desk at has the strongest nose for news. The News Mill is a Guwahati-based new-media house with focus on disseminating news through the digital media. The editor can be reached through [email protected]