File Photo: Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh

BJP-led coalition government in Manipur is facing a crisis as nine MLAs have announced their decision to withdraw support from the government and support the Congress party.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

Three BJP MLAs have tendered their resignation as MLA and from the primary membership of the party and joined the Congress.

The three MLAs of BJP – Samuel Jendai, TT Haokip and Subashchandra – were formally welcomed by former chief minister O Ibobi and other Congress leaders on June 17.

Four National People’s Party (NPP) MLAs who were all Cabinet ministers in the N Biren Singh government, also announced their decision to withdraw support. The four MLAs – Y Joykumar, L Jayantakumar, Letpao Haokip and N Kayisii – also submitted their papers to the chief minister.

AITC MLA L Robindro and Independent MLA Ashabuddin have also announced their decisions to withdraw their support to the government.

O Ibobi said Congress has 27 MLAs and has support of four NPP MLAs, one each of AITC and Independent making it 33 on their side. The BJP had 26 MLAs but after the resignation of three MLAs, the saffron party now has only 23 MLAs.

One seat in the 60-member state assembly was vacant after the disqualification of Th Shyamkumar.

A press conference was held on June 17 which was attended by Congress leaders along with all the nine MLAs who withdrew support to the BJP-led government in the state.

Avatar of TNM NewsDesk
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


52 new COVID-19 cases in Manipur; total reaches 552

Chennai-returnee dies of COVID-19 in Assam