News & Information From Northeast India

Former PM Manmohan Singh among 14 Rajya Sabha MPs on leave over health issues

Former prime minister Manmohan Singh and former finance minister P Chidambaram are among 14 Rajya Sabha members granted leave over health issues.

The Upper House on September 16 granted leave of absence to the 14 MPs, including former prime minister Manmohan Singh, for being unable to attend the monsoon session of the Parliament due to health reasons.

Eleven of the 14 MPs have sought leave for the entire session, which is meeting for the monsoon session amid the peaking of COVID-19 pandemic, citing their “vulnerable age category”.

Among those who sought leave were Independent MP Narendra Jadhav, Manas Ranjan Bhunia (Trinamool Congress), Parimal Nathwani (YSRCP), A Navaneethkrishnan (AIADMK), Sushil Gupta (AAP), Oscar Fernandes (Congress), Dr Anbumani Ramadoss (PMK), Hishey Lachungpa (SDF), V Lakshmikantha Rao (TRS), Parimal Nathwani (YSRCP), Mahendra Prasad (JD-U), KG Kenye (NPF) and Banda Prakash (TRS).

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India