News & Information From Northeast India

Manipur CM Biren Singh felicitates team India players

The eight Manipuri players of Indian under 17 football team was felicitated by chief minister Biren Singh at Imphal on Monday. Manipur governor Najma Heptulla also felicitated the players.

The CM who himself excelled as a football player in 1970s congratulated the players and awarded Rs 5 lakh each for their hard work and achievement.

Team India lost to the US in their inaugural match by 4 goals, then they lost to Colombia by 2-1 and in the last match the Indian colts lost to Ghana by 4 goals to nil.

Goal-keeper Dheeraj Singh who has been able to draw attention of global clubs being felicitated by the chief minister Biren Singh.

In the team 10 players are from northeast – eight from Manipur and one each from Mizoram and Sikkim.

Team India. Credit: FIFA

Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Boris Singh Thangjam, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Kumanthem Nonthoinganba Meetei, Amarjit Singh Kiyam (captain), Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Nongdamba Naorem and Mohammad Shahjahan represented the country from Manipur.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India