Meghalaya to form committee on boundary dispute

Following chief minister-level official talks to discuss the boundary dispute between Assam and Meghalaya last week, the Meghalaya government has decided to form three regional committees.

Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma on July 27 said that the three regional committees will be for West Khasi Hills district, Ri Bhoi district and two districts of Jaintia Hills.

The proposed committee will be headed by one of the cabinet ministers and other members could be a local MLA or members of district council.

“Field visits will be made by the committee and reports will be submitted on different issues from ground level,” Sangma said, adding that at a later stage, a state-level committee will be formed to have a larger consultation with different stakeholders, including political parties, deputy commissioners, village chiefs, civil society organisations and others.

About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through


Two Indian films fly high, to have world premiere at Venice, Locarno

Punjab National Bank holds 20th AGM through video conference