Nalbari wins JK Baruah cricket tournament

JK Baruah Cricket – The News Mill
Nalbari players pose after winning JK Baruah trophy | Image Courtesy: ACA

Nalbari has won the JK Baruah under-19 inter-district cricket tournament title by virtue of their first-innings lead against Silchar in the final at the Golaghat District Sports Association (GDSA) Stadium on March 30.

Silchar had scored 190 in their first innings of the two-day match. In reply, on a rain-marred second day, Nalbari managed 195 for three wickets. Nihar Deka of Nalbari scored a magnificent 109 off 129 balls to help his side win the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) organised tournament.

Earlier, Nihar also excelled with the ball and picked up five wickets which helped to restrict Silchar to 190 on day one. Roshan Topno (56) and Parvej Musaraf (35) were the major contributors for Silchar

Rohan Hazarika of Guwahati won the best batsman award while Parikshit Banik of Silchar got the best bowler trophy. Mirza Rizvi Galib of Nalbari was awarded the best wicket-keeper honour while the man of the match and tournament award went to Nihar Deka for his brilliant display with the bat and ball.

JK Baruah tournament is one of the events organised by the state cricket body to find out the young talents.

Brief scores: Silchar 190 in 70.3 overs (Roshan Topno 56, Parvej Musaraf 35, Dibakar Goala 32, Aman Singh 21; Nihar Deka 5/58, Rahul Kumar Thakur 2/33, Sandeep Rabha 2/21). Nalbari 195/3 in 46 overs (Nihar Deka 109, Nibir Deka 36, Mirza Rizvi Galib 20; Sahil Hasan Laskar 2/35, Parvej Musaraf 1/38).

Avatar of TNM NewsDesk
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


COVID-19 situation getting worse in India

Polling in 39 seats in Assam during second phase on April 1