Representative photo

Chairman of Assam State Level Police Recruitment Board (SLPRB) Pradeep Kumar quit the post on September 27 citing moral responsibility for the recruitment test paper leak that resulted in the cancellation of the written exam on September 20.

A probe into the sub-inspector recruitment scam is underway.

“I apologise to the candidates and their families,” Kumar said in his resignation letter submitted to the government.

Following the direction of Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, the CID and the crime branch of Assam Police are probing the exam paper leak issue.

The investigating team has raided various locations including that of former deputy inspector general (DIG) Prasanta Kumar Dutta, who is now on the run.

According to the police, so far 13 people, including a woman employee of the state irrigation department and one from the Special Task Force of Assam Police, have been arrested in connection the scam amid the investigation, which is being personally supervised by Assam Director General of Police (DGP) Bhaskarjyoti Mahanta.

On September 20, the SLPRB had cancelled the written test a few minutes after it had started following the leakage of the question paper in the social media.

Over 66,000 candidates had appeared in 154 centres in all the 33 districts for the written test for 597 posts of unarmed sub-inspectors in Assam Police.

ALSO READ:  Around 40 highlands constructed to provide shelter to animals: Assam minister

There are reports that ex-DIG Dutta along with few political leaders have absconded to Nepal as the former police officer’s daughter lived there.

Assam Police have already contacted the External Affairs Ministry to take appropriate action against the absconders.

Avatar of TNM NewsDesk
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Assam flood situation deteriorates, affects 2.25 lakh people in 9 districts

IndiGo shifts flights with series 2000 from Terminal 3 to Terminal 2 of Delhi airport