News & Information From Northeast India

Rathore felicitates winners of AIBA Youth World Boxing Championship

Union youth affairs and sports minister Rajyavardhan Rathore felicitated boxer Ankushita Boro and other Indian medal winners of the AIBA Youth World Women Boxing Championship at a special function in New Delhi on Friday.

Rathore announced that a cash award of Rs 6.7 lakh each will be given by his ministry to Gold medal winners of the Youth World Women Boxing Championship. The 5 winners in this category are Nitu, Jyoti, Sakshi, Shashi Chopra and Ankushita Boro. The 2 winners of Bronze medal namely Anupma and Neha Yadav will receive a cash award of Rs 2.70 lakh each.

Speaking on the occasion, the minister asked the National Sports Federations (NSFs) to bring transparency in their activities and added that the federations should display on their websites their funding, utilisation of funds and selection process of players for different events and result of such selection immediately after the selection is over.

The sports minister also felicitated Gaurav Bidhuri who won Bronze medal at AIBA Elite Men World Championship held in Germany in September 2017.

Congratulating all the winners of Youth Championship, Rathore said despite odds and challenges all these girls have shown the world what can be achieved by women with grit and determination in a tough game like boxing. He said the government will provide all possible help and facilities to these young girls so that they can focus on boxing to bring laurels to the country in future Olympic games.

Boxer Mary Kom also made a brief speech on the occasion and lauded the performance of all the boxers present at different championship.

India won 5 Gold and 2 Bronze at Guwahati and was declared Team Champion. Russia was 1st Runner Up followed by Kazakhstan.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India