News & Information From Northeast India

Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya celebrate statehood day

Three Northeast states – Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya – organized various events to celebrate their statehood day on January 21.

In a series of tweets, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: “Statehood Day greetings to the people of Meghalaya. My best wishes for the development journey of the state.”

“On their statehood day, I convey my best wishes to the people of Tripura and pray for the state’s all-round growth.”

“Greetings to the people of Manipur on their Statehood Day. I hope Manipur will remain blessed with joy and prosperity,” Modi stated.

Under the North-Eastern Areas (Re-organisation) Act, 1971, Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya attained statehood on January 21, 1972.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India