24 colleges participate at debate competition in Sonapur College

The Sonapur College organized the North East India Inter College Debating Competition on August 24 which witnessed the participation of 48 competitors representing 24 colleges from Assam, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh.

Columnist, poet and editor of Nagaland Page, Monalisa Chankija, took the chair of speaker while the jury included freelance journalist Suresh Ranjan Goduka, associate professor at Arya Vidyapeeth College Sangeeta Kakoty and public relation officer at IIT, Guwahati, Labanu Knowar.

Anwesha Saha and Shabnam Firdausi of Guwahati Medical College jointly became the best debaters while Abhishek Kabra of JB College, Jorhat and Bwenye Kemp of Tetso College, Dimapur were adjudged the second and third best debater respectively.

The winners received the Sinam Uriba Singh Memorial prizes along with the cash prizes of Rs 10,000, Rs 7,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

The Guwahati Medical College and the North Lakhimpur College won the best and the second best teams respectively and lifted the Sinam Uriba Singh Memorial prizes, besides cash awards.

Congratulating the winners, Sonapur College Principal Devabrot Khanikor said that the presence of the 48 participants representing 24 colleges from across the northeast, made the event successful.

About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through editor@thenewsmill.com


Artemis hospital leads discussion on latest radiosurgery tech at Guwahati

Right to Privacy: A new found freedom


Leave a Comment