News & Information From Northeast India

3 newly upgraded universities in Assam to enroll HS students this session

The newly upgraded Hojai College in Hojai, Madhabdev College in Narayanpur and Bajali College in Pathsala in Assam, will enroll higher secondary students for the current session.

With the upgradation of Hojai College as Rabindranath Tagore University, Hojai; Madhabdev College as Madhabdev University, Narayanpur; and Bajali College as Bhattadev University, Pathsala, the higher secondary section (10+2) will be closed from the new universities with effect from the session 2020-21 as per UGC guidelines.

“For immediate relief of students, the higher secondary section (10+2) will continue in the colleges only for the current session 2019-20,” a government release noted.

The government note however added that there will not be any further enrollment of students in the higher secondary course in the mentioned colleges (now universities) from the next session 2020-21.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India