Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma elected as BAI president

Assam finance and education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has been elected as the president of the Badminton Association of India (BAI) during the federation’s annual general body meeting and election in Goa on Tuesday.

Sarma, who is also the convener of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA, took over as the interim president of BAI last year after the demise of former president Akhilesh Das Gupta. He was elected to the hot seat unopposed.

Sarma will now serve as the president of the association for a term of four years.

“I would like to congratulate all the elected members and I’m sure that everyone will fulfill their responsibilities to the best of their capacity. Indian badminton has been on an all-time high and we as a federation will strive to take it forward and make Indian badminton to the top of the pedestal,” Sarma said.

Omar Rashid, secretary of Assam Badminton Association (ABA) was elected as the secretary (events) unopposed.

Former Tamil Nadu Badminton Association president and former Union minister Anbumani Ramadoss was elected as the treasurer uncontested. Ramadoss is currently a sitting Lok Sabha MP from Dharmapuri constituency.

Ajay Singhania of Haryana Badminton Association beat KK Sharma of Rajasthan Badminton Association and former secretary of Rajasthan Cricket Association to the post of general secretary.

About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through


Assam film Ishu set to have US premier

Manipur govt to invest Rs 6 crore for construction of cold storage in 6 districts