Assam to move Centre to make Assamese state language

The Assam government will move the Centre to declare Assamese as the state language of Assam, while also making the teaching of Assamese language mandatory in all schools of the state.

A meeting of the state cabinet on December 21, chaired by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, resolved that the Centre will be moved to amend Article 345 of Constitution of India to declare the Assamese language as state language of Assam, excluding Barak Valley, Bodoland Territorial Area Districts (BTAD) area and Hill districts.

It further resolved that new legislation will be brought in next Assembly Session making the teaching of Assamese language as a compulsory subject in all English and other medium schools, except in case of schools in Hill districts, BTAD, Bodo dominated areas and Barak Valley.

The cabinet also decided to request the Centre for the expeditious conclusion of the Bodo Peace Accord.

A bill for the protection of land rights of indigenous people of Assam and the Assam Heritage Preservation Bill will be introduced in the next session of state assembly.

The allocation for Tea Tribe Welfare Department was decided to be increased substantially and more development programmes will be taken up, including in higher education sector.

The wages of labourers of Assam Tea Corporation will be increased from Rs 138 per day to Rs 167 per day from January 1 next.

The cabinet further decided to create three new autonomous councils for Koch-Rajbonshi (Kamatapur Autonomous Council), Moran and Matak communities.

All Tribal Autonomous Councils, namely, Missing, Rabha, Sonowal Kachari, Thengal Kachari, Deori, and Tiwa will be granted Constitutional status so that they can receive fund from both central and state governments, including other rights and privileges.

The chief executive member of all tribal autonomous councils will be ex-officio members of Sub-divisions land advisory committee of sub-divisions within their territorial jurisdiction.

Moran, Mattak, Chutiya and Ahom communities will each receive special package of Rs 125 crore, while the Tai Ahom Development Council, the Chutiya Development Council and the Koch Rajbongshi Development Councils will be restructured with substantial budget allocations.

Further, medical, engineering, agriculture and veterinary science and PG seats in general universities will be specifically reserved for Tai Ahom, Koch Rajbongshi and Chutiya communities.

The cabinet also decided to declare the birthday of Sati Sadhini as state holiday and a new state university, named Sati Sadhini Rajyik Vishwavidyalaya, will be set up in Golaghat district.

Moreover, two new medical colleges will be established each in Biswanath district and undivided Sivasagar district, and Bajali Sub-division will be upgraded into a district.

About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through


Last minute equalizer robs Aizawl FC 2 points in I League

Resilient NEROCA deny Chennai City a win at home