News & Information From Northeast India

By-election: Over 74% polling in Assam, 90.74% in Arunachal, 79.83% in Meghalaya

Over 74 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm across the four assembly constituencies in Assam that went to by-election on Monday.

Chief Electoral Officer of Assam Mukesh Sahu said that, 74.15 per cent polling was recorded till 5 pm and the polling percentage was likely to increase.

The by-election was held in Ratabari, Rangapara, Sonari and Jania assembly constituencies.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), 74.37 per cent voter turnout has been recorded in Ratabari seat while 77.50 per cent was recorded in Rangapara, 66.40 per cent in Sonari and 78.21 per cent in Jania seat.

Polling started at around 7 am in all the 830 polling stations of the four assembly constituencies.

As many as 20 candidates are in fray in four assembly seats with a total voter-count of 6,78,898.

In last assembly election in Assam, BJP won Ratabari, Sonari and Rangapara seats while Congress won the Jania seat.

By-election was necessitated as Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari), Tapan Gogoi (Sonari) and Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara) of BJP and Congress MLA of Jania Abdul Kalaque won in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

On the other hand, 90.74 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm in Arunachal Pradesh’s West Khonsa seat and 79.83 per cent in Meghalaya’s Shella seat.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India