Winning candidates in celebration mood

After JNU in New Delhi, ABVP fared poorly in Gauhati University elections as All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) backed candidates registered massive win. AASU has won eight seats out of 14 seats in the Post Graduate Students’ Union (PGSU) election.

Earlier, AASU also had registered victory in Dibrugarh University.

Two seats each went to NSUI, Satra Mukti Sangram Simiti (SMSS) and ABVP. Manas Pratim Duara and Monjit Sarma of AASU have won in the posts of president and general secretary respectively.

Besides, assistant general secretary Anjita Paul (NSUI), literary secretary Himakshi Borah (SMSS), music secretary Barasha Rani Baruah (AASU), cultural secretary Bhaskarjyoti Sarma (SMSS), debate and symposia secretary Himamani Kalita (AASU), boys’ common room secretary Ranjan Upadhaya (ABVP), girls’ common room secretary Sagarika Sarma (AASU), gymnasium secretary Masum Janid (AASU), sports secretary David Basumatary, major games secretary Ariful Islam (AASU) and social service secretary Gaurang Boro (AASU) were elected.

Apart from that, Phanindra Basumatary of ABVP, was elected uncontested.

AASU hailed the victory as befitting reply to the BJP led government in the centre and state. AASU general secretary Lurin Jyoti Gogoi said that the students’ community has restored faith on AASU.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]