Oil India Limited (OIL), Duliajan lifted the 66th Bordoloi Trophy defeating the Assam State Electricity Board (ASEB) SC by 5-2 in the title clash played at Nehru Stadium in Guwahati on October 2. The fiercely competed final of the football tournament was decided through penalty shootout after the normal time ended in a 2-2 stalemate.

In the battle of nerves, the ASEB players succumbed to the pressure and could not score during the shootout while OIL converted all the shots into goals.

It was the ASEB which drew the first blood in the 10th minute of normal time. Akrang Narzary fed an intelligent Jwmbla Brahma from right flank with a brilliant run and Brahma made no mistake to score past OIL keeper Nihal Das.

Towards the end of the first half, OIL accelerated their speed and attack and finally Milan Basumatary scored just a few moments from the half time whistle to equalise the score line.

In the 60th minute, OIL took the lead as Sirandeep Moran sent the ball home after a brilliant overlap run and a cross by F Wary.

And in the 90th minute Akrang Narzary’s goal for the ASEB equalled the score to take the match into penalty shoot-out.

Sirandeep Moran of OIL was declared player of the match.

Last year, Kolkata outfit Mohammedan Sporting Club became the champions. Mohun Bagan has won the trophy seven times.

Meanwhile, in the 11th Bodousa Cup, Durand Cup winner Gokulam Kerala FC beat Sagolband UFC of Manipur on October 2 to reach the final which will be played on October 4. The Kerala side defeated the Manipur based outfit 2-1 in the semi final played at Tinsukia. They will now take on Minerva Punjab in the finals on October 4 at Tinsukia.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About Abdul Gani


Abdul Gani is a Guwahati-based journalist