Lovlina Borgohain

Assam boxer Lovlina Borgohain, who has qualified for the Tokyo Olympics, will be conferred with the Arjuna Award this year for her brilliant performance inside the ring. The awards function will be held virtually on August 29, the National Sports Day, instead of the Rashtrapati Bhavan this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

The Union ministry of youth affairs and sports on August 21 released the final list of the winners of the National Sports Awards 2020.

“I am extremely happy after I am named for the Arjuna Award. I feel more responsible now. I will try to give my best to make my country proud of my game. I thank everyone who has helped me in my journey,” Borgohain told The News Mill.

After spending months at her home in Golaghat due to the lockdown amid the COVID-19 outbreak, Borgohain has joined the national camp at Patiala recently.

Lovlina Borgohain has been placed 3rd under 69 kg weight category in the recent International Boxing Association (AIBA) ranking.

During her stay at her hometown in Golaghat, the consecutive medallist at the World Boxing Championships in 2018 and 2019 worked hard on her fitness.

Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years. Arjuna Award is given for consistent outstanding performance for four years while Dronacharya Award goes to the coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events. Dhyan Chand Award is for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

ALSO READ:  "Bumrah is not out of T20 World Cup yet," says Sourav Ganguly

Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy. In addition to these sports awards, the ministry also recognises the spirit of adventure among the people of the country by bestowing the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

Indian women hockey captain Rani Rampal, cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, Paralympic gold-winner Mariyappan Thangavelu and table tennis player Manika Batra will be getting the Khel Ratna this year.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Mizoram to open its borders with neighbouring states only thrice a week

Sarthebari journalist Arnab Jyoti Deka dies in road accident