Representative Photo

Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Assam has made a landslide victory at Tiwa Autonomous Council polls winning 34 out of total 36 seats while the remaining two seats were shared by its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and opposition Congress.

Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on December 19 tweeted: “What a momentous day… People of Assam reasserts faith in PM Sri Narendra Modi as BJP registers a massive victory winning 34 seats…”

Voting for the 36 constituencies of the Tiwa Autonomous Council, spread across Nagaon, Morigaon, Hojai and Kamrup Metro districts in Assam, took place on December 17. A total of 124 candidates were in the fray.

Big win for BJP in BTC polls

In the recently-concluded elections of the 40-member Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC), Bharatiya Janata Party formed the government in alliance with two other parties.

In the results, the incumbent Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) became the single largest party with 17 seats.

The United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) won 12, BJP nine, while the Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) and Congress bagged one seat each.

UPPL along with Bharatiya Janata Party has formed the council.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Improving air connectivity key for tourism in Northeast India: Venkaiah Naidu

CoMSO agitation for implementation of ILP in Meghalaya; governor visits Delhi