AIUDF leader Badruddin Ajmal

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) on March 7 released its list of 16 candidates for the Assam assembly elections.

The first list 16 names with five of them being friendly contests. Badruddin Ajmal-led AIUDF has joined the Congress-led grand alliance (mahagathbandhan) in Assam. The Congress will also field its candidates in the five seats.

Besides Ajmal’s party, the Congress-led alliance comprises CPI, CPI (M), CPI (ML), Anchalik Gana Morcha and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF). The BPF was a constituent of the NDA. But it quit the alliance and sided with the opposition front.

Ajmal had earlier said that he is ready to sacrifice some seats in order to strengthen the anti-BJP alliance.

Here is the full list:

AIUDF candidates list

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Denied election ticket, Assam BJP minister joins Congress

Rs 2.72 cr cash, liquor worth Rs 1.11 cr seized since poll announcement in Assam