Shiladitya Dev

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 10 released a list of three candidates for the second phase of the Assam assembly elections.

Interestingly, the saffron party denied ticket to Hojai MLA Shiladitya Dev and has rather named Ramakrishna Ghosh as the candidate from the constituency.

The other names in the list includes Milan Das who will contest from Hailakandi constituency while Paramananda Rajbanshi will contest from Sipajhar.

Reacting to the denial of ticket, MLA Shiladitya Dev wrote on Facebook: “Finally I have been kicked out from BJP”.

Earlier, when the BJP announced the list of candidates for the Assam assembly elections without naming anyone from the Hojai constituency,  Dev had turned poetic to express his pain.

“Jodi Tor Dak Shune Keu Na Ase Tobe Ekla Cholo Re (If no one responds to your call, then go your own way alone),” Dev wrote on his Facebook profile, the famous lines of the Bengali song written by Rabindranath Tagore in 1905.

During the anti-CAA (Citizenship Amendment Act) movement, Dev had been very vocal in support of the act. Though Dev faced backlash for his support to the controversial act, many loved him for his support.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Two students from Aakash Institute secure 100 percentile in February session of JEE Mains

Relief for citizens as NTPC withdraws load shedding in Meghalaya