Sarbananda Sonowal

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to retain power in Assam as per an opinion poll data released on March 24.

According to the Times Now C-Voter Opinion Poll Wave 4 data, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is set for a second term in Assam with the collation poised to get 69 seats in the 126-member assembly.

The opinion poll data said that the NDA partners – BJP, AGP and UPPL – will secure 45 per cent of votes.

CM Sonowal hot favourite for top post

Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal still remains the most favourite candidate for the top post as data showed a whooping 46.2 per cent preferring the former AASU leader as their CM.

Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi, who is not contesting the Assam assembly elections, got 25.2 per cent votes as preferred candidate for the CM’s post while Assam minister and senior BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma got 13 per cent votes.

The first phase of elections in Assam will be held on March 27.

Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal, who will contest for the second consecutive time from Majuli, will be in fray in the first phase. Others include senior Congress leader Debabrata Saikia who will contest from Nazira; jailed activist-turned-politician Akhil Gogoi who is trying his luck from Sivasagar assembly seat.

The second phase of elections in Assam will be on April 1 while polling for the third and final phase will be on April 6. Results will be declared on May 2.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


AASU launches anti-CAA protests after BJP leaders promise to implement CAA

Congress, allies close gap in Assam, may secure 41 per cent vote share: Opinion poll