Entrepreneur and founder of Assamese jewellery brand DoogDoogi Utpal Bania

The Raha assembly constituency in Nagaon district of Assam is witnessing one of the youngest candidates contesting the elections in the state this time.

Entrepreneur Utpal Bania, founder of famous Assamese jewellery brand DoogDoogi, has filed nominations papers for the assembly elections from the Raha (SC) seat as a candidate of the newly-floated Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP).

Thirty-year-old Bania says that he joined politics to serve the people. “I see this as an opportunity to serve the people. Since the announcement of my candidature, I am meeting new people every day and I am humbled by the love and affection of them. I have witnessed the aspirations of the people and I hope that I will be able to fulfil them,” said Utpal Bania, who belongs to Ranthali village in Nagaon.

For Utpal Bania, his humble beginning as an entrepreneur with just a few hundred rupees in hand and then going on to establish one of the most well-known Assamese jewellery brands, is a reason of strength. “His association with the grassroots is a big plus now that he wants to work for the people through politics. Utpal Bania’s story of how he established DoogDoogi from a mere investment and took it to a national platform, surely connects with the youth,” said Rahul Das, a resident of Raha.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has left the Raha assembly seat for its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). The seat was won by Dimbeswar Das of the BJP in the 2016 elections.

Bishnu Das, a resident of Jaluguti in Morigaon district, has filed nomination papers as the AGP candidate from the Raha constituency.

Opposition Congress has fielded Sashi Kanta Das from the constituency. Congress candidate Sashi Kanta Das had lost to Dimbeswar Das of the BJP in the 2016 elections by more than 33,000 votes.

Guneswar Das, who contested the 2016 elections as an AIUDF candidate, will contest this year as an Independent.

Raha assembly constituency in Nagaon district of Assam has 2,17,582 eligible voters this election. The assembly seat, reserved seat for Scheduled Caste, was won by Pijush Hazarika in 2011 who contested the election as a Congress candidate then.

Raha will vote on April 1 in the second phase of the Assam assembly elections.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar of Jayanta Deka
About Jayanta Deka


Jayanta Deka is a Guwahati-based journalist with over a decade of experience in journalism. Tracking new media, technology, startups and politics interest him. He can be reached through [email protected]


Mother of divyangjan teenager calls for awareness on govt schemes

Assam Polls: Miffed BJP MLA agrees to campaign for party