Cricket: Kanaklata Barua Trophy from February 7

Kanaklata Barua Trophy
Representative Image | Unsplash

The first-ever women’s inter-district cricket tournament in Assam – Kanaklata Barua Trophy – will start from February 7.

The Assam Kaziranga University admissions

Assam Cricket Association (ACA) said that the tournament will be conducted in Guwahati and it will come to an end on February 21.

ACA secretary Devajit Saikia in a statement said that the first-of-its-kind tournament is being organised with a broader objective of promoting women’s cricket in Assam.

The Kanaklata Barua Trophy will be played in a 30-over format, and would witness 18 teams from different districts of the state clash against each other to lift the coveted trophy.

It is named after Kanaklata Barua, an activist of the Indian freedom movement who was shot dead by the British police during the Quit India Movement in 1942 when she was just 17 years old.

Following are the participating teams, which have been divided into 4 groups:

Group A: Lakhimpur, Tezpur, Guwahati, Dhemaji and Dibrugarh.

Group B: NF Railway, Jorhat, Hojai, Karimganj and Mangaldai.

Group C: Silchar, Dhubri, Nagaon and Biswanath.

Group D: Hailakandi, Nalbari, Bokakhat and Morigaon.

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Senior tennis tourney at Duliajan from Feb 18

‘Urban unemployment rate decreased in 2019-20’