Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets to win maiden IPL title

Gujarat Titans made their maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) season an unforgettable one by lifting the 2022 title with a seven-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals in front of a roaring home crowd of 1,04,859 at the Narendra Modi Stadium on May 29.

By finishing off a chase of 131 with 11 balls remaining and defeating Rajasthan Royals for the third time in IPL 2022 after losing the toss, Gujarat Titans have capped off a season where they exceeded everyone’s pre-tournament expectations to become champions in their debut season of the competition.

Chasing 131 wasn’t going to be easy for Gujarat Titans on a slow, dry pitch with variable bounce, where captain Hardik Pandya had taken a fantastic 3/17 in the first innings. But with a below-par total to chase down, Gujarat Titans paced their chase in a clinical manner to clinch the trophy.

Guharat Titans’ Wriddhiman Saha was clean bowled by a quick inswinger from Prasidh Krishna while Matthew Wade flicked straight to mid-wicket off Trent Boult. After Gujarat Titans could amass just 31/2 from power-play, Rajasthan Royals’ bowling continued to be incisive from both ends as Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya struggled to break free despite some boundaries here and there.

Gill, who was dropped on fourth ball of the innings, earned another reprieve in the eighth over when a hoick down the pitch wasn’t caught by a diving extra cover. But the introduction of Ravichandran Ashwin brought Pandya the chance to find his groove, taking the off-spinner for a four with a thick outer edge past the keeper and followed it up with a six over wide long-on.

The 63-run stand off 53 balls between Pandya and Gill ended when Yuzvendra Chahal took out the former with the one turning away and taking the outer edge, giving a catch to slip. It seemed like Pandya’s dismissal would leave Gujarat in a spot of bother.

David Miller, one of their key players in the season, began by driving Obed McCoy through extra cover for a boundary and then dispatched an overpitched ball from Ashwin over long-on to make the equation 22 runs off the last four overs.

The left-hander took two boundaries off Krishna’s final over, a pull swivelled over fine leg followed by a thick edge through third man. Gill finished off the innings in style with a swivelled six off McCoy over deep square leg to make Gujarat IPL 2022 champions.

Earlier, Pandya recorded his best IPL bowling figures to restrict Rajasthan to a low total in the title clash. With the crowd firmly behind him, Pandya took out Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Shimron Hetmyer in a tight bowling display by the bowling unit.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


NADI conclave: Jaishankar stresses on collaboration between NE India, Bangladesh and ASEAN

Mitali Express to strengthen international tourism between India and Bangladesh