Congress clears 40 names for 2023 Meghalaya election

Vincent Pala Meghalaya Congress
Vincent Pala

The Congress party in Meghalaya on December 29 cleared the first list of 40 candidates for the upcoming 2023 assembly elections in the state.

Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) chief and Shillong MP Vincent H Pala is among the candidates cleared by the Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) in Shillong.

Vincent Pala will be contesting against sitting AITC legislator Shitlang Pale from the Sutnga-Saipung constituency.

The first list also featured the names of 10 former legislators and seven women candidates. As many as 30 of the 40 candidates are fresh faces, which will be contesting the elections for the first time.

Addressing media persons, Pala said that the 40 candidates include 26 in Khasi and Jaintia Hills region and 14 in the Garo Hills region.

“We will again sit for a meeting after a week to decide on the remaining 20 seats which include 10 in Khasi-Jaintia Hills and 10 in Garo Hills,” Vincent Pala said.

“We only cleared the list but the names will be approved and announced from Delhi.”

Stating that 20 percent of the candidates are women, Pala said: “I am proud to inform you that there are 7 women candidates and some of them are highly qualified and hard-working. None of the political parties will have so many ladies (in their respective lists).”

The MPCC president, who is also an engineer by profession, said that over 6 engineers are contesting from Congress this time besides 8 who have completed their masters and PhD and one doctor.

There are at least six sittings MDCs on the list and they are Batskhem Ryntathiang (Mairang), Gabriel Wahlang (Nongstoin), Charles Marngar (Mawhati), Carnes Sohshang (Mawkyrwat), Ronnie V Lyngdoh (Mylliem) and Pynshngainlang N Syiem (Pynthorumkhrah).

Ronnie and Pynshngainlang are also former legislators.

The other former legislators include Celestine Lyngdoh (Umsning), J Antonius Lyngdoh (North Shillong), Deborah Marak (Williamnagar), Billykid A Sangma (North Tura), Edmund S Sangma (Rangsakona), Sayeedullah Nongrum (Mahendraganj), Rophul S Marak (Rongara-Siju) and Brigady Napak Marak (Bajengdoba).

Apart from Deborah, the seven other women candidates are Rona Khymdei (Nongpoh), Venetia Pearl Mawlong (South Shillong), Dr Banidashisha Kharkongor (Nongthymmai), Lakyntiew Sohkhlet (Sohra), Pynhunlang Nongrum (Mawkynrew), Victorealness Syiemlieh (Ranikor) and Uttora G Sangma (Ampati).

The first list also includes former DSP turned chairman of the disbanded Garo terrorist outfit – Garo National Liberation Army (GNLA), Champion R Sangma.

The other candidates are: Emlang Laloo (Nartiang), Nehemayah Tyngkan (Mokaiaw), Adrian Lambert Chyne Mylliem (Jirang), Marbud Dkhar (Mawlai), Manuel Badwar (East Shillong), Sardonik Nongkhlaw (Nongkrem), S Osborne Kharjana (Sohiong), Dannyson Kurbah (Mawphlang), Gopal Stone Hynniewta (Mawsynram), Nehru Suting (Pynursla), Goldenstar Nonglong (Rambrai-Jyrngam), Timjim K Momin (Mendipathar), Frederick Sangma (Raksamgre), Dr Kapin Ch Boro (Tikrikilla), Augustine D Marak (Dadenggre), Roger Benny A Sangma (Dalu), Karak R Sangma (Chokpot).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]