Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma | File Photo

The Assam cabinet approved the administrative merger of four newly formed districts with existing districts, on December 31.

Biswanath district will be merged with Sonitpur, Hojai will be merged with Nagaon, Tamulpur district will be merged with Baksa and Bajali district is being merged with Barpeta district.

The police and judicial operations will continue in these districts and all other district offices created during this period will continue so that no officials or employees face any difficulty.

“These decisions have been taken because of administrative ascendancy and in the interest of Assam, and the society. We have decided to re-merge four districts. Decisions were taken in the interest of Assam’s future,” chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said in Delhi on December 31.

Following that decision, several organisations have expressed their displeasure and staged protests.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]