Voters stand in queues to cast their vote for the Tripura assembly elections, on February 16 | ANI Photo

Around 92 per cent votes were registered in the Tripura assembly elections which went to single-phase polling on February 16.

Chief electoral officer (CEO) Gitte Kirankumar Dinkarrao said that the polling percentage will be around 92 per cent.

Voter turnout was 91.82 per cent and 89.38 per cent in 2013 and 2018 assembly elections, respectively.

The CEO said that when the voting officially ended at 4 pm, around nine per cent of voters were in the queue in 1,600 polling stations across the state and they were being allowed to cast their votes in a large number of polling stations in different districts.

“Over 81.1 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise when the polling officially ended at 4 pm. Over 2.2 per cent people, mostly polling and security personnel, cast their votes through postal ballot before Thursday’s voting,” Dinkarrao told the media.

He said that except for five incidents, the voting across the state was “100 per cent peaceful”. Six people were arrested in connection with these incidents, he said.

“The Election Commission has initiated zero poll violence missions and that was fully achieved,” the CEO said. He said that it is a matter of satisfaction that in all polling stations, more than one polling agents of candidates were present, webcasting done, and Central Armed Police Force and micro observers were present in all the polling stations.

In all, 259 candidates, including 31 women, are in the fray for the election to the 60-member house in Tripura. In the 2018 Tripura assembly polls, there were 297 candidates, including 24 women.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Punjab: BSF recovers narcotic item near village Dalla Rajput

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Australia win toss, opt to bat first against India in second Test