Durand Cup | File photo

Durand Cup football tournament will commence its 132nd edition in Kolkata, Guwahati and Kokrajhar from August 3 to September 3.

Organized by the Indian armed forces and supported by the Government of Assam, for matches in Guwahati and Kokrajhar, the oldest in Asia and the third oldest football tournament in the world will be played across three venues – Guwahati and Kokrajhar in Assam and Kolkata in West Bengal.

Total 24 teams, four more than the previous edition, will compete for the coveted trophy this year.

All 12 Indian Super League (ISL) teams will play in this year’s Durand Cup tournament along with two foreign services teams from Bangladesh and Nepal.

These foreign teams are taking part in the tournament after a gap of 27 years.

The Durand Cup has been the breeding ground for India’s best footballing talent over the years.

Established in 1888, the Durand Cup is a unique tournament where in the winning team walks away with three trophies, i.e. the Durand Cup (a rolling trophy and the original prize), the Simla Trophy (also a rolling trophy and first given by the residents of Simla in 1903) and the President’s Cup (for permanent keep and first presented by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, India’s first President, in 1956).

Twelve Indian Super League (ISL) teams, three Indian Armed forces teams, two foreign services team and seven I-League teams will be seen in action in this year’s Durand Cup.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]