ANI Photo | “PM Modi emphasizes importance of modern, state-of-the-art public transport infrastructure”: Ashwini Vaishnaw

In view of the re-development of 508 railway stations to be done across the country, the Minister of Railways, Ashwini Vaishnaw on Friday said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has consistently emphasized the importance of modern and state-of-the-art public transport infrastructure.
In a groundbreaking and historic move, PM Modi is set to lay the foundation stone for the ambitious redevelopment of 508 railway stations nationwide. This monumental initiative, aimed at transforming the face of public transportation in India, will witness its symbolic beginning on August 6.
Talking to the media about this event, Vaishnaw said, “PM Modi has consistently emphasized the importance of modern and state-of-the-art public transport infrastructure. Acknowledging the widespread preference for railways as a primary mode of travel for the country’s citizens, he has championed the notion of providing world-class facilities and amenities at railway stations.”
“This vision has culminated in the launch of the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme, a comprehensive plan aimed at the redevelopment of a staggering 1309 railway stations spanning the length and breadth of India,” he added.
The Minister further said that the focus of this visionary scheme is the foundation stone laying ceremony for the revitalization of 508 carefully selected railway stations. This transformative endeavour comes with a substantial financial commitment, with a budget exceeding Rs 24,470 crores earmarked for the redevelopment efforts.
“A key aspect of this endeavour involves the creation of Master Plans designed to seamlessly integrate these railway stations into the fabric of their respective cities. By conceptualizing these stations as ‘City Centres,’ the project is underpinned by a holistic approach to urban development, with a strong focus on the pivotal role of railway stations within cities,” he added.
These 508 stations are spread across 27 states and union territories, including 55 each in Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, 49 in Bihar, 44 in Maharashtra, 37 in West Bengal, 34 in Madhya Pradesh, 32 in Assam, 25 in Odisha, 22 in Punjab, 21 each in Gujarat and Telangana, 20 in Jharkhand, 18 each in Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu, 15 in Haryana, 13 in Karnataka among others.
The redevelopment will provide modern passenger amenities along with ensuring well-designed traffic circulation, inter-modal integration and well-designed signage for the guidance of passengers. The design of the station buildings will be inspired by local culture, heritage and architecture

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.


Naxal couple surrenders in Chhattisgarh’s Sukma

“Will introduce Decriminalisation of Defamation Bill, 2023,” Raghav Chadha after SC order on Rahul Gandhi