Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu

Ahead of the April 19 voting day, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Arunachal Pradesh on March 30 opened its account with a bang by winning 10 assembly seats unopposed.

Prominent among the winners are chief minister Pema Khandu from Mukto assembly constituency in Tawang, and deputy chief minister Chowna Mein from Chowkham constituency in Namsai district.

“In the state of Arunachal Pradesh, we have 10 candidates who were elected unopposed,” announced the state’s chief electoral officer (CEO) Pawan Kumar Sain.

The winners are Pema Khandu from Mukto, Dongru Siongju (Bomdila), Techi Kaso (Itanagar), Ratu Techi (Sagalee), Hage Appa (Ziro-Hapoli), Jikke Tako (Tali), Nyato Dukam (Taliha), Mutchu Mithi (Roing), Dasanglu Pul (Hayuliang), and Chowna Mein (Chowkham), the CEO said.

He informed that altogether 14 candidates remained in the fray for the two Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh after the withdrawal of candidature.

Commenting on the win, chief minister Pema Khandu tweeted: “I’m profoundly grateful to the people of respective Assembly constituency for their overwhelming support and trust in the vision of Hon’ble PM Shri @narendramodi Ji for a better tomorrow. With great humility, we acknowledge this, which fills us with a deep sense of responsibility and commitment towards serving you with utmost dedication and sincerity.”

In Arunachal West Parliamentary Constituency, BJP candidate Kiren Rijiju, INC’s Nabam Tuki, Gana Suraksha Party’s Toko Sheetal, and five Independents – Bimpak Siga, Leki Norbu, Ruhi Tagung, Tania June, and Techi Rana will vie for the seat.

For the Arunachal East parliamentary seat, six candidates including BJP’s Tapir Gao, INC’s Bosiram Siram, Arunachal Democratic Party’s Bandey Mili, and Independents – Omak Nitik, Sotai Kri, and Tamat Gamoh remained in the fray, the CEO said.

Regarding the remaining 50 assembly constituencies which will be going to polls on April 19 concurrently with parliamentary elections, Sain said that a “complete report from districts is awaited. Once received, the same will be shared.”

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]