ANI Photo | “There will be change in Kerala…”: BJP candidate for Palakkad after PM Modi’s roadshow

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State general secretary and the party’s candidate from Palakkad Assembly Constituency C Krishnakumar on Tuesday said that people in Kerala will usher in a political change in the state and it will be visible in the results of the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.
Krishnakumar, who had also contesting from Palakkad from the BJP in 2019 general elections said that the roadshow held earlier today by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Palakkad has received a “good response.”
“I am prepared to contest these elections. There is a very good response to PM Modi’s visit here. We are well ahead of the two other (political) fronts in the state. This time there will be a change in Kerala and it will show in the results,” Krishnakumar told ANI.
State BJP president K Surendran also said that the roadshow of PM Modi was a big success.
“The roadshow was a big success, people wholeheartedly welcomed PM Modi and greeted him. The enthusiasm among people and party workers is very high. People are fed up with LDF and UDF, their only hope is PM Narendra Modi and his developmental agenda for Kerala,” he added.
PM Modi this morning held a roadshow in Palakkad as part of the election campaign held for the NDA candidates of Palakkad, Malappuram, and Ponnani Lok Sabha constituencies. A large number of spectators gathered to catch a glimpse of the Prime Minister.
The roadshow was held on a one-kilometre-long stretch from Kotta Maidan Anjuvillakku to the Head Post Office Road in the town.
There are 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala and the BJP has never won a parliamentary seat in the state.
While the BJP has fielded Krishnakumar, VK Sreekandan is contesting from Congress and A Vijayaraghavan, former Acting secretary of the Communist Party of India (M) has been fielded as the CPI(M) candidate from Palakkad constituency.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress’ Sreekandan emerged victorious with 399,274 votes, defeating CPM MB Rajesh, who received 387,637 votes. C Krishnakumar of the BJP had come in third after winning 21.44 pe cent of the votes.
The state will see voting on all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Phase 1 on April 19.
The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 will be held in seven phases from April 19. Counting of votes on June 4

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.