ANI Photo | Congress making different castes fight each other, says Rajasthan Minister Kirodi Lal Meena

As Rajasthan’s Sawai Madhopur readies for the poll battle on Friday, Rajasthan Minister Kirodi Lal Meena slammed the Congress party for making different castes fight against each other in the Lok Sabha elections.
“Congress wants to make different castes fight against one another, they want to do appeasement. Here the Congress party has tried to make the Gurjars fight against the Meenas,” Meena said speaking to ANI on Wednesday.
In Sawai Madhopur, Harish Chandra Meena from Congress will be battling with BJP’s Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria for the Tonk Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat in Tonk district.
Claiming that the Bharatiya Janata Party is against casteism in electoral politics, Meena said, “BJP is totally against casteism, we fight elections on issues like nationalism, development and under the name of PM Modi. Our MP will win again and PM Narendra Modi will become Prime Minister for the third time.”
Tonk-Sawai Madhopur is a general seat and can be considered a strong household for the BJP as during the last two Lok Sabha elections, BJP emerged victorious and this time also, BJP will be eyeing to win the seat.
In 2019, BJP’s Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria had secured 6,44,319 votes (52.2 per cent) in Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat. Whereas Namonarayan from the Indian National Congress secured 5,33,028 votes (43.2 per cent).
In 2014 as well, BJP’s Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria emerged victorious from the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat and secured 5,48,179 votes (52.6 per cent) while Congress’ Mohammad Azharuddin secured 4,12,868 votes (39.6 per cent).
Polling in Rajasthan is being held in two phases, on April 19 and April 26. Polling for 12 Lok Sabha seats was held in the first phase on April 19, while the remaining 13 seats will go to the polls in the second phase on April 26.
The BJP won 24 out of 25 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, while the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party won one. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, won in all 25 parliamentary constituencies

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.