ANI Photo | Dhubri: Assam DGP assesses police preparedness ahead of polling in third phase

Director General of Assam Police (DGP) GP Singh visited Dhubri in lower Assam to assess the preparedness of the police ahead of polling in the third phase of Lok Sabha elections, informed a press release.
GP Singh, arrived in Dhubri on Thursday. He was welcomed with a special guard of honor at the Superintendent of Police’s office.
Dhubri is also the headquarter of the Dhubri district in Assam, an Indo-Bangladesh bordering district of lower Assam.
DGP Singh later held a closed-door meeting with senior police officers of the district including Dhubri Superintendent of Police Nabin Singh at the Dhubri police reserve’s auditorium hall.
Following the meeting, he told the reporters that his visit aims to assess the preparedness of the police for the Lok Sabha elections and said the preparations are going well so far.
The DGP also said the police have been asked to comply 100 per cent with the directives of the District Election Officers including the Election Commission of India and Assam. He affirmed hoped that the Assam Police would be able to conduct clean, fair, transparent and peaceful elections.
Dhubri along with the constituencies of Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Guwahati, will go to polls during the third phase on May 7.
Earlier on Wednesday, Assam DGP GP Singh had also visited Goalpara district and reviewed the law and order situation ahead of polls.
“Honourable DGP Assam had reviewed L&O situation and election preparedness of Goalpara District with DC , SP GLP and other officials of Goalpara Police and Central Armed Police in presence of IGP (WR), Assam in a meeting held on 24/04/2024 at Conference Hall SP Office, Goalpara,” the Goalpara Police said in a post on X.

The elections in Assam is being held in three phases: April 19, April 26 and May 7.
The BJP is contesting in 11 out of 14 seats, while its ally parties, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), are contesting in two seats (Barpeta and Dhubri) and UPPL in one seat (Kokrajhar), respectively.
In 2014, BJP won 7 seats, while it increased its tally to 9 in the 2019 election

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.