ANI Photo | “He will win with big majority”: Shivpal on Akhilesh filing nomination from Kannauj

As Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav is slated to file his nomination from Kannauj seat today, party leader Shivpal Sing Yadav has said that Akhilesh will win with a big majority.
“Today, Akhilesh Yadav will file the nomination. He will win with a big majority. Earlier, Akhilesh Yadav and Dimple Yadav won that seat (Kannauj). And this time again, Akhilesh Yadav will win. Dimple will win from Mainpuri. Everyone knows that Netaji (Mulayam Singh Yadav) used to fight from here and win,” he said.
Further, speaking on the second phase of voting to be held tomorrow, Shivpal said that the BJP is disappointed with the first phase and as the election progresses, it will incline towards the INDIA bloc.
“BJP is disappointed with the first phase of elections. Now, the elections for the second phase will be held. As the Lok Sabha polls progress, it will be inclined towards the INDIA alliance,” he said.
Meanwhile, Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest the general elections from the Kannauj Lok Sabha constituency, the party said on Wednesday, just days after it declared Tej Pratap Yadav as its candidate for the seat.
The Party, in a post on X, said that the SP Chief will file his nomination from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat on Thursday.
“Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav to file nomination papers as party candidate from Kannauj Lok Sabha tomorrow,” it said.
Akhilesh Yadav served as Lok Sabha MP from 2000-2012. He resigned from the Kannauj parliamentary seat in 2012 after he became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. In 2017, his party was unable to form government in UP and he submitted his resignation to the Governor. He was elected Lok Sabha MP in 2019 and went on to be elected to the UP Assembly in 2022.
However, the BJP has taken on the SP claiming that the party can’t even decide on its candidates for the election as they have anticipated defeat.
Deputy CM Brajesh Pathak said, “Samajwadi Party (SP) is changing its candidates and stand again & again. They are filled with the fear of defeat. Samajwadi Party alliance will not win anywhere in the state. They will get zero seats. BJP will win Kannauj, Mainpuri and other seats with absolute majority…”
In Uttar Pradesh in the 2019 general elections, the BJP emerged triumphant, securing 62 out of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, supplemented by two seats clinched by its ally Apna Dal (S). Mayawati’s BSP managed to secure 10 seats, while Akhilesh Yadav’s SP garnered five. The Congress party secured only one seat

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.