ANI Photo | LS polls: Rajasthan BJP chief CP Joshi looks for third straight win in Chittorgarh, to face Congress’ Udai Lal Anjana

The Chittorgarh constituency in Rajasthan is bracing for a high-stakes showdown as the polling for the Lok Sabha elections in this seat will be held on April 25.
The seat will witness a fierce contest between the BJP’s State President, Chandra Prakash Joshi, and Congress’ Udai Lal Anjana, a former Rajasthan minister, who gained prominence in 1998 Lok Sabha polls when he defeated former Defence Minister Jaswant Singh from the seat.
In the 2019 elections, Joshi won the seat by defeating Gopal Singh Shekhawat of the Congress by a margin of 5,76,247 votes. The BJP leader secured 9,82,942 votes.
In the 2014 general elections, Joshi clinched the seat with 7,03,236 votes, surpassing Congress candidate Girija Vyas by 3,16,857 votes.
Looking for his third straight victory from the seat, Joshi said that the BJP will win all 25 constituencies in the state. He emphasised the developmental work done under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
On the other hand, Congress candidate Udai Lal Anjana highlighted the farmers’ issues, promising to advocate for their rights. He criticised the BJP for neglecting farmers’ concerns and pledged to address them effectively.
Anjana also pointed out the lack of substantial issues from the BJP’s side, emphasising the need for a discussion on development.
Voting for the 12 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan was held in the first phase on April 19. The remaining 13 seats will go to polls in the second phase on April 26.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP registered a sweeping victory, winning 24 out of 25 seats in Rajasthan, while the remaining one seat was won by Rashtriya Loktrantrik Party candidate Hanuman Beniwal

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.