ANI Photo | YSR Congress Party’s Srinivasa Rao files nomination in Bheemunipatnam for Andhra Assembly election

Former state Minister and YSRCP MLA candidate from Bheemunipatnam Assembly seat Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao, popularly known as Avanthi Srinivas filed his nomination at Bhimili RDO office in Visakhapatnam.
Srinivasa Rao, who is the sitting MLA from the constituency, is pitted against Telugu Desam Party’s Ganta Srinivasa Rao. The contest between the two assumes significance as both the candidates have never experienced defeat in any elections in their over two-decade political career.
Srinivasa Rao held a roadshow while heading to the RDO office. Hundreds of supporters, people from various wards and the YSRCP cadre from Bheemunipatnam took part in the nomination rally of Srinivasa Rao.
Later, addressing the people, Srinivasa Rao urged them to vote for ‘fan’ in the coming elections. He said that more than 30,000 house sites were sanctioned during his term in Bhimunipatnam.
He made his political debut in the Praja Rajyam in 2009. Later, he joined the TDP and was elected as MP from Anakapalli, then he switched to the YSRCP party and was elected as MLA for Bhimunipatnam.
TDP’s Ganta Srinivasa Rao filed his nomination on April 18. Both the Avanthi and Ganta served as MLA, MP and Minister.
The Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh will be held on May 13.
In the 2019 Assembly elections, the YSRCP won with a thumping majority of 151 seats, while the TDP was confined to 23 seats. In the Lok Sabha polls, the YSRCP won 22 seats, while the TDP could only win three seats

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.