ANI Photo | BJP will not only win all 21 LS seats but also Odisha assembly: Dharmendra Pradhan

Confident that the BJP was well on course to spring a poll surprise on the ruling BJD in the state, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan on Thursday said his party will not only win all 21 Lok Sabha seats in the state but will also bring a change of guard at the helm.
Speaking to ANI on Thursday, the BJP’s Lok Sabha candidate from Sambhalpur said, “Odisha is voting for change. I can say with full confidence that the BJP will not only win all 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state but will also form the next government in the state as well. We will form the government here for the first time. In the last two decades or more in power, the ruling BJD has left a lot to be desired and has failed to fulfil the aspirations of the people.”
Alleging a paucity of water for both irrigation and drinking purposes in the state, the Union Minister also gunned for the ruling BJD over inadequate teachers and doctors. “There is no water either for drinking or irrigation. One-third of the people have left their homes and gone to other states in search of livelihoods,” he said.
In a dig at the ruling party and CM Patnaik for withdrawing to the background and bringing close aide and former IAS VK Pandian to the forefront of state affairs, Pradhan said, “The CM has, in fact, gone a step further. We have all known leaders to use microphones and audio props to give speeches, but Naveen babu has taken people on rent to do the same. The leadership of the state and governance have been outsourced (to VK Pandian). The people of Odisha will not accept this. While the CM can make his succession plan, the people have no other choice but to vote for change.”
In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections in the state, the Biju Janata Dal emerged as the largest single party, winning 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP had to be content with just a lone seat.
However, in the 2019 polls, the BJP came up with a much-improved showing, marking significant electoral strides to win 8 seats while the BJD’s tally dropped to 12. The improved presence was largely attributed to a boost in the BJP’s organisational presence in the state.
The Congress, on the other hand, managed to win just one seat in the 2019 elections.
The assembly and Lok Sabha elections in the BJD-ruled state are being held across four phases–from May 13 to June 1. The counting of votes for all phases in the state and elsewhere will be held on June 4.
In the sixth phase of polling, 42 Assembly segments and six Lok Sabha seats in the state will go to polls on May 25. The remaining 42 of the 147 Assembly seats and six Lok Sabha constituencies will poll in the final phase on June 1

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ANI News Logo
About ANI


ANI is a leading multimedia news agency.