News & Information From Northeast India

Northeast football teams win individual I-League awards

The two northeast teams at the Hero I-League won three individual awards following a rigorous election process where all 10 coaches and captains cast their votes.

Alfred Kemah Jaryan of the champion Aizawl FC, who was suspended from playing the final game of Hero I-League 2016-17, was adjudged the best midfielder of Hero I-League season.

Khalid Jamil, who guided Aizawl FC to their historic I-League victory, was bestowed with the ‘Syed Abdul Rahim best coach award’.

There was little competition for the best striker award as Aser Pierrick Dipanda Dicka of Shillong Lajong FC grabbed the award, thanks to his tally of 11 goals in 18 matches.

Another player from northeast, Jerry Lalrinzuala, who was born in Mizoram, won the ‘best emerging player of Hero I-League’ award. The 18-year-old left back plays for DSK Shivajians.

The most coveted award of Hero I-League 2016-17, ‘Hero of the league’ went to Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri, who scored 7 goals in Hero I-League 2016-17.

Debjit Majumder of Mohun Bagan, with 8 clean sheets, won the best goalkeeper award of this season.

Mohun Bagan defender Anas Edathodika, who recently made his international debut, edged others to win the best defender award.

Meanwhile, Churchill Brothers FC Goa, who made a comeback to the fray after a hiatus, won the ‘Fairplay award’ of Hero I-league 2016-17.

DSK Shivajians FC and Bengaluru FC shared the ‘best organiser award’ this season on the basis of points awarded by the respective match commissioners.

The News Mill is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@thenewsmill) and stay updated with the latest news from across Northeast India