Voting begins for 4 Assembly seats in Assam

Voting is currently underway for the four Assembly constituencies in Assam. Polling started at 7 am on October 21 in all the polling stations in the four constituencies — Jania, Sonari, Ratabari and Rangapara.

There are 20 candidates in the fray in all the four constituencies this time and a total of close to seven lakh voters are to cast their votes.

The bypolls was necessitated after three Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Legislators — Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), Topan Kumar Gogoi (Sonari) and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) were elected to the Lok Sabha. Das and Gogoi were Ministers in the Assam government and Mallah was the Deputy speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly

Similarly, Congress MLA from Jania, Abdul Khaleque, was also elected to Lok Sabha from Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency necessitating the bypolls.

About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through


Crowd-funded literature festival comes to an end in Imphal

Ogbeche the hero as Kerala strike down ATK in ISL opener