Photo courtesy: Mizoram Police

A security personnel was killed and 10 others were injured when the vehicle they were travelling in met with an accident in Manipur’s Tamenglong district on March 2.

The security personnel from neighbouring state of Mizoram were on poll duty in Manipur. The vehicle they were on board along with goods met with the accident at Tamenglong College campus where they were stationed in the wee hours of March 2, around 1.30 am, official reports said.

The deceased personnel has been identified as K Lalawmpuia of Zion Veng of Champhai town of Mizoram. He succumbed to his injuries on the way to district hospital where he was evacuated along with other injured personnel.

Doctors at the hospital declared him dead, the report said.

Among the 10 other injured personnel, the conditions of five – SI RC Lalthlamuana, havildar VL Dingliana, havildar R Lalbiaknunga, havildar V Lalbiakmawia and naik Lalsawmliana – were stated to be critical.

Others who sustained minor injuries are havildar Lalsangzuala, constable Lalhlimpuia, constable Lalmawizuala, constable Lalbiaknunga and constable R Lalnunmawia.

The deceased as well as the injured personnel were airlifted to Imphal early in the morning on March 2 and admitted at RIMS hospital after administering first aid at Tamenglong district hospital, the report said.

The body of the deceased will be sent to his native place in Mizoram after necessary postmortem at RIMS morgue, official sources said.

The armed security personnel from Mizoram police were at Tamenglong district headquarters as part of the central security forces deployed in the two-phase elections to the Manipur assembly.

They were to be utilized to protect polling stations in the district where the voting will take place in the second phase on March 5.

The vehicle reportedly met with the accident after the driver lost control while negotiating a steep and narrow road to the college campus.

The first phase of Manipur assembly election was held on February 28 in 38 assembly constituencies spread across six districts while the voting for the second phase in 22 assembly constituencies will take place on March 5.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Avatar photo
About TNM NewsDesk


The News Mill is a Guwahati-based digital media with focus on content from across Northeast India and beyond. We can be reached through [email protected]


Over 850 ‘mahila recruits’ take part in Assam Rifles pass-out parade in Nagaland

From Ukraine to Meghalaya: 12 students reach India safely